Search This Blog

Nuffnang ads

Click Me

Friday, April 15, 2011

The Kübler-Ross Model

The busy week had been finally ended after completing the tons of assignments. Today, my housemates and I had been going to two famous temples in Batu Pahat in order to soothe our minds. This would be a hard semester for me to go through but I believe that I can progress further if I hold tight on the belief. Everything happens for a reason.. Hmm, the reason, i shall let the time to prove it or perhaps there's never have an answer for that. Anyway, I got the fortune tally which shows me better future ahead, and I hope it will truly happen to me =)

Life is just as fragile as the heart. R.I.P hui en's friend. Sometimes, we often dwell over the past and could not fill the depression with joys, and eventually end our life. During the sad moments, what we need the most are someone who can give us positive comforts and advices, or just a pair of ears to listen to us. I would say that friends and family play important roles as they are the ones who will be there as listeners and supporters when you feeling so down as if the world is ending.

Hereby, I would like to share an article that I read at noon i.e. 'The Kübler-Ross Model', which is commonly known as the The Five Stages Of Grief. I found that most of us will experience the stages below depressively when undergo some significant events.

The 5 stages, popularly known in its abbreviated form DABDA, include:
  1. Denial — "I feel fine."; "This can't be happening, not to me."
    Denial is usually only a temporary defense for the individual. This feeling is generally replaced with heightened awareness of positions and individuals that will be left behind after death.
  2. Anger — "Why me? It's not fair!"; "How can this happen to me?"; '"Who is to blame?"
    Once in the second stage, the individual recognizes that denial cannot continue. Because of anger, the person is very difficult to care for due to misplaced feelings of rage and envy. Any individual that symbolizes life or energy is subject to projected resentment and jealousy.
  3. Bargaining — "Just let me live to see my children graduate."; "I'll do anything for a few more years."; "I will give my life savings if..."
    The third stage involves the hope that the individual can somehow postpone or delay death. Usually, the negotiation for an extended life is made with a higher power in exchange for a reformed lifestyle. Psychologically, the individual is saying, "I understand I will die, but if I could just have more time..."
  4. Depression — "I'm so sad, why bother with anything?"; "I'm going to die... What's the point?"; "I miss my loved one, why go on?"
    During the fourth stage, the dying person begins to understand the certainty of death. Because of this, the individual may become silent, refuse visitors and spend much of the time crying and grieving. This process allows the dying person to disconnect from things of love and affection. It is not recommended to attempt to cheer up an individual who is in this stage. It is an important time for grieving that must be processed.
  5. Acceptance — "It's going to be okay."; "I can't fight it, I may as well prepare for it."
    In this last stage, the individual begins to come to terms with his mortality or that of his loved one.
Okay, I seems like still being around the stage of denial, anger and bargaining. Huh! Bad progress, but I wish for the day that I will say " I am fine" and I truly mean what i spoken that time.

You can’t change the past, but you can ruin the present by worrying about the future.